Bren Esports dominates Asia-Pacific CS:GO tournament

Posted by Bryan Terng on January 17, 2020

The Nvidia GeForce Cup Pacific Grand Final 2019 saw the region's best players exchanging bullets for the US$20,000 prize pool.

"It's long way to the top if you wanna rock n' roll," sung the late Bon Scott of ol' school rock band, AC/DC. Although esports players and hard rockers are on two wildly different planes, both apples and oranges are still fruits - it takes the same, sheer amount of hard work and dedication for e-athletes to be the best of the best. Thanks to their blood, sweat and tears, Bren Esports came out on top to win the championship title at the latest Asia-Pacific Counter Strike: Global Offensive (CS:GO) tournament.

A clean sweep victory for Bren Esports, right from the start of the competition.

Organised by Genysis Cyber Esports, the Nvidia GeForce Cup Pacific Grand Finals 2019 saw Asia-Pacific's top 10 CS:GO players vying for the whopping prize pool of US$20,000 (RM81,252):

  • ex-Genuine Gaming (Australia)
  • Team A Point (Cambodia)
  • Entity Gaming (India)
  • BOOM Esports (Indonesia)
  • Darkhorse (Malaysia)
  • Team Impunity (Myanmar)
  • Bren Esports (Philippines)
  • GMCC (Singapore)
  • Maple (Thailand)
  • Revolution (Vietnam)

More than 1,700 teams participated in the Nvidia GeForce Cup Pacific 2019, with only a handful of 10 teams qualifying for the Grand Finals.

Philippines' Bren Esports were gunning down opponents left and right since the start of the tournament, securing victories for all four matches in their respective group stage - the same goes to Thailand's Maple - before winning 2-0 for both semi-finals (Indonesia's BOOM Esports) and the grand final (Maple). The Filipino powerhouse bagged the winning prize of US$8,000 cash prize, with first runner-up Maple and second runner-up BOOM Esports' rewarded with US$5,000 and US$3,000, respectively. 

Champion - Bren Esports

  • Deko "Papichulo" Evangelista
  • Chris "Pro." Martir
  • Jim Albert "BORKUM" Timbreza
  • Riley "witz" Go
  • Patrick "Derek" Lacson

First runner-up - Maple

  • Sattawut "Leaf" Reathong
  • Patcharapon "Niffy" Junman
  • Tuchpong "JUSTCAUSE" Pongthanadechakit
  • Manutsawat "Reality" Sangphadung
  • Phakhin " PPOverdose" Jaroenthanajinda

Second runner-up - BOOM Esports

  • Baskoro "roseau" Dwi Putra
  • Alessandro "mindfreak" Aaron Leonhart
  • Dwi Prasetyo "gruvee" Gunarianto
  • Jason "f0rsaken" Susanto
  • Iqbal "kylooshka" Mauldhan Yusup

The tournament was held at Battle Arena Malaysia on 11 - 12 Jan, with a plethora of activities that kept audiences engaged, such as a friendly match between Fiera FendiNoel Nuo Yao and the players, and various contests for fans to win prizes.

For more information, head on over to The Gameplan and UniMAP Esports Club's Facebook pages.


Rocketfuel Entertainment Sdn Bhd
 (Tel: +603 9543 3838)