MPL-MY/SG: Notorious Villains and Resurgence successfully qualify for the Regular Season

Posted by Benedict benedict@egg.network on February 17, 2020

The third Singaporean team is MPL debutants Siren Esports.

After the Mobile Legends: Bang Bang Professional League Season 5 (MPL-MY/SG S5) Singaporean qualifiers yesterday, three more teams joined defending champions EVOS SG to fly the Singapore flag during the Regular Season. Teams Notorious Villains, Resurgence and Siren Esports earned the right to compete for a share of the US$100,000 (RM415,000) prize pool.

Siren Esports was the first qualified team, having defeated Notorious Villains (NV) 2-1 in the first semi-final of the day. Despite consisting of players new to the competitive scene, they showed maturity and functioned like a well-oiled machine, executing their teamfights and strategies as a team. 

Overall, it was a poor showing from the Kolia-led NV. Hallucinates was their best player, and despite winning the first game, the team crumbled in the subsequent games due to a lack of teamwork. 

Siren Esports line-up includes Azura, ABCDE, a1a2, Babayaga, Ambuste and Jo.

The second semi-final saw a veteran Resurgence team defeat newcomers Osiris 2-0. The series proved relatively straightforward for last season's third-placed squad which underwent a major reshuffling.

Resurgence's line-up includes Kayzeepi (Resurgence's coach last season), Sana, MPL debutant XCP, and three members of Season 1's champions, IDNS SG, SynC, ly4ly4ly4 and Jason. These three have had mixed fortunes since winning the inaugural MPL title and stability has been a constant thorn in their side. If they can continue their qualifiers' form, they should stand a chance to stamp their mark on the league. 

In the final series of the day, Notorious Villains claimed a clean 2-0 victory over Osiris, with Hallucinates and Swan positively impacting the games with their Pharsa and Gatotkaca picks. 

Their experience proved the deciding factor, and despite some hurdles, Kolia, Xian, Swan and xmxmxm mark their MPL returns ins style. 

Notorious Villains' line-up includes Kolia, Qiann, xmxmxm, Hallucinates, Xian and Swan. 

The final list of MPL-MY/SG Season 5 teams are as follows:

  • Todak
  • Axis Esports
  • Geek Fam
  • Team Bosskurr
  • Makan Cendol
  • Orange Esports
  • Notorious Villains
  • Resurgence
  • Siren Esports

The Regular Season is scheduled to begin in early March, stay tuned to the MLBB Facebook page for more updates. 

MPL-MY/SG Season 5 is organised by eGG Network.


linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram